a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Awkward Teenager

The juvenile heron is not yet as big as some of the adult herons, but he's clearly now providing for himself.  Herons are not the most graceful of birds when they take off or land, but this chap was more awkward than most and still clearly getting used to just how big his wings now are.

He didn't seem to have the patience that the adult herons show, and moved about a fair bit trying to find something to eat, with no joy whilst I was observing him.  But I'm sure there will have been a dozy fish or frog somewhere waiting for him unawares.

The background in this one is a bit busier than I'd like, but I've not taken a better shot today so this one will have to do.

This will be the last wildlife shot for a few days as I'll be off on my travels shortly and won't be taking big cameras and long lenses with me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.