THE SUN INN

I was on " Luna Duty " today so I set off around 1pm to get the bus to Swalwell. The Wide Wednesday challenge hosted by BobsBlips is Pub or Restaurant so on my way to Neil's I took this shot of The Sun Inn ( known locally as Maids ).  It was built in 1895 and is still going strong. During the 1950's it had Swalwells only neon sign - the Blue Star sign of the Newcastle Breweries.  According to local records in1896 there were 27 pubs in Swalwell.  Now there are only two.  The other one is The Highlander which I have already blipped.

After getting my blip shot I did a bit of shopping in Lidl before carrying on to Neil's.  The weather had been fine but when I came out of Lidl it was raining.  Luckily I had taken a brolly.

Luna seemed pleased to see me.  Hadn't seen her for a while as I was away on holiday last week.  As usual Neil had taken her on a long walk before he went to work so she was a bit sleepy at first but she soon perked up when I produced a new toy.... and some treats.  Good job the toy didn't cost a lot as by the end of my 2 hour visit she had destroyed it.

After leaving Neils I got a bus to my village and walked home through the allotments.  Luckily the rain had stopped and it was nice and sunny.

Its 10pm and I've just finished listening to the footie on the radio.  ( The match was shown on BT which I don't have ). Newcastle were playing away at Liverpool. A tough match for The Magpies. Newcastle scored first after 38 mins.  The scorer was our brand new signing Isak.  Liverpool scored an equaliser in the second half.  After playing 90 mins the score was level - then were 9 mins of extra time.  Lots of goal chances in those nail biting 9 mins. Unfortunately it was Liverpool who got the ball in the net.  Final score Liverpool 2 Newcastle 1.  Newcastle certainly didn't deserve to lose - a draw would have been a fair result.

Steps today - 9,314

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.