Blackberry Stack

OK, so I had a little play with my macro lens in the garden this morning….to see if I could overcome its problems (discovered yesterday).

As I thought….I set up the camera and manually focussed roughly on the front bit of the berry - (a bit of a hit and miss process in itself because of the wobbly front element), I then turned the focus back a bit so it was just in front of the berry (so nothing was in focus) and set the camera to take a focus stack sequence. It does this by just nudging the lens (and hence the focus) a tiny bit at a time towards infinity without actually auto-focussing each time (this was the bit I wasn’t sure about - I had thought it refocussed each frame). I then finished up with a series of shots all with different planes of focus

I picked out 20 that covered focus from front to back of the front berry and merged them in Affinity…not bad for a first attempt. This means I can still use the macro lens for focus stacking….I just have to change the first focus point to be somewhere in front of my subject…there may be more macro shots coming :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.