Last day of April

I tend to buy calendars in the sales which means that I could end up with anything although I do put a ban on boy bands/ girl bands/ kittens/ Sir Cliff....I couldn't cope with seeing that every day. This year is a railways poster calendar which advertises places you can go to on the train. April's image was Aberystwyth which I know for a fact is a fab place. I lived there for about 4 years. You can't beat living on the promenade there in the old Victorian type buildings....the sea storms, the Punch and Judy shows, turkish delight ice creams, Honest John's 'Shop y prom', the constitution hill cliff railway, sunbathing on the beach, kicking the bar for good luck (this is a railing at the end of the prom). It's also cool to watch others kicking it but pretending not to in case someone sees them. The Bay, The Glengower, The Fudge Pancake shop, The Crystal Palace , Nevil's Boutique (where grungy clothes and doc marten boots are the order of the day). Possibly the best thing about it is that it is at the 'end of the line' (railway) so this means that you get a few colourful characters hanging around who have decided to move and relocate....searching for something different in life. It also feels like it is in the middle of nowhere so if you don't have a car you can't easily escape or run home.....I love that! I miss Aber and need to go back sometime soon :-D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.