Pumpkins and pain

This is the first sale of pumpkins I've seen so far but certainly not the last. The pumpkin has been a symbol of autumn Öland for many years now and there are many farmers and gardeners who grows them to sell in the weeks leading up to, and during the big autumn festival that is always on the last week of September, apart from 2020 when it was cancelled for known reasons.

The festival is a huge tourist-thing and goes on for five days, mostly focused on food-connected things, local art, music and the landscape of Öland.The marketing is huge and people come from all over the country to spend time and money on their visit here. For us living here it's a time for staying at home, at least with your car, the roads and the bridge is packed and everything takes much longer whatever you are going to do. The festival is usually the last event before Öland closes for autumn and winter, not opening until beginning of May when the spring festival starts the tourist season.
What do you actually DO with a pumpkin? Soup, a haloween face?

In the morning I had an appointment with a chiropractor in Kalmar to help me with my cramped muscle in the shoulder that has given me problems all year. She immediately discovered to "locks" in my upper back and neck that made the muscle cramp to compensate for the unbalance. I hate it when they crack my neck with force but this time I had set myself up to it as a sort of last way out because the shoulder gives me so much uncomfort. After cracking those two points it actually immediately felt a little better. One of them caused a huge pain reflex in my left arm that it felt like an electric shock. She said that was one of the main factors that made the muscle cramp and I would probably feel a bit sore for a couple of days. Whatever she was doing she was very confident and thoroughly explained what and why she was doing what she was doing. She asked me to report back in one and a half week to see if more is needed, otherwise it should take care of itself, coupled with some simple exercises. Let's hope so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.