Maple

I've always wanted a tree to sit under. I don't know why, it's just a romantic idea, symbolising who knows what.
No matter what kind of tree it is, as long as I fit under it. I've been looking at candidates at the plant-center nearby, Walnut, Fig, Beech... but they are all too expensive to buy. 

When I lived in Härnösand in the north of Sweden, I had a dying Lilac-bush growing in the lawn. In the middle of the bush, a Maple seedling had settled down, not bigger than I could have pulled it up with my thumb and forefinger, with ease. I didn't though and next spring, when it was clear that the bush wasn't going to make it, I took it away but left the Maple-plant. Eighteen years later, when I moved south, the Maple was big enough to climb into, and also to sit under, but that was of no use anymore, since I was moving. 

I thought I would try the same thing here. I found a very young Maple that had rooted itself next to my woodpile or rather, I had unknowingly put my woodpile close to the Maple without seeing it but today, when I was looking for a young tree of some sort, I found it. I dug it up, leaving as much of its roots as I could and also a lot of the soil it had grown in and moved it to the middle of my lawn near the house, where I hope it will like to be. The soil is the same or better but there is a lot more sun and a much better view than being almost behind a big pile of firewood, shaded by several other trees.

The plant must be about two years old so I reckon If I live another fifteen years I might have a chance to sit under it. I look forward to that moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.