Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Waiting...

There have seldom been days when I've wanted less to post something to my journal.  But here I am, marking the day.  

Last night we set up litter box, bed, food, water out on the patio hoping that our Charlie would be attracted to the smells and recognize home.  I also set up my trail cam ... and Charlie's first visit was at 11 last night, with continued visits until a little after 6 this morning.  He looks okay but he's always been a very, very spooky cat (there are several years of his life we know nothing about) and you could see it in every bit of his body language. On the one hand Hubs and I were both ecstatic that he is alive, but on the other hand my heart is breaking because I know how scared he is.  

Although we've called and called, he hasn't reappeared at all today - I suspect he has adapted a nocturnal habit since he is fearful of people.  We are going to stay up tonight, all night if necessary, to see if he will come back and if we get him to come to us.  He is the most huggable cat I've ever known so if we get him back, I'm going to fully immerse him in a hug.  

Anyway, please keep the thoughts and prayers and energy coming. Hopefully at some point tonight we will have our beloved ginger boy back.

Extra dark today - with salted caramel and with peanut butter.  Neither of us is eating much so feel entitled to some extra chocolate.

Today's image is one of two young chipmunks who've just started coming our of the garden burrow with mom.  They explore while she collects food - typical kids.  This little guy was sitting on the top of a nest box that I have on the patio to be cleaned - bright sunlight on a light surface behind him which rendered the photo sort of hi key.  And wide open aperture so very shallow DOF rendering his body fully blurred.   think he looks like he's waiting, don't you?

xo
Debbi

PS:  today is the 22nd anniversary of our wedding.  We mutually agreed that until we get Charlie safely home, neither of us feels much like celebrating.  So we will mark this day later when we can do it right.  He is my person, my love and that won't change.

PPS: a little after 8 tonight we got our boy back. It took Hubs about 5 minutes to coax him with some food and then scoop him up and bring him in. He has had lots of water and food and so many cuddles. And I’ve shed another ocean of tears - the happy kind

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.