A Quick Visit

I was sitting at my table in the garden this afternoon and all of a sudden a bee landed on this little plant in front of me. It’s a good thing I had my phone right there for a quick snap! Because he left and I never saw him come back!

I had to use Google lens because I couldn’t remember what this plant was, even though I purchased it quite recently. Apparently it’s a ‘Lewisia’ although it was known by local Native Americans as ‘Bitterroot’ - they ate the root and used it to treat sore throats! It grows in north facing cliffs in western North America. Meriwether Lewis of Lewis and Clark fame is credited with making the first discovery by a European or American of this plant - in 1906. There are 19 varieties.

And so there we have your botany lesson for today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.