Feeling Just a Wee Bit Fall-ish

It's too warm again today, but the light has changed and it's just a bit darker in the morning and late evening. Have you noticed? 

I had acupuncture first thing this morning and I think she needled most of the remaining cold right out of me. Just a bit of a lingering cough now. 

And I played golf for the first time in a month which was a lot of fun. My friend and I took a cart since it was too warm to walk and we played "Freedom Friday" which means no scoring and free tosses out of bunkers, stuff like that. And we played with a new member who is a lovely woman. I'm sure she thought we were nuts ;-)

The Japanese Lanterns - Alkekengi officinarum (which even I won't begin to try to pronounce) also know as Chinese Lanterns or Ground Cherries are turning into their beautiful orange fall color. And today the pollinators were all over the garden - there must have been hundreds...so lovely to see. I found a creature (fly or bee?) that I've not seen before (see extra). It's covered with granules that look a bit like sand. Perhaps JDO or dbifulco could help us out with this conundrum. The allium that it is enjoying is Allium 'Medusa', named of course, after Medusa due to its snaky, twisty leaves and nodding cobra-like blossoms. Just when you thought you'd seen all of the alliums ;-)

Happy Friday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.