Sunrise over Papay

Extra: first light, 45 minutes earlier

The huge window of St Clair Cottage faces east so you get the full glory of the sunrise. I did go outside to take these photographs but it's only a few steps. It's pretty breezy though so I didn't stay outside for long.

It seems appropriate to blip this view today because we're planning a day trip to Papay. Papay (Papa Westray) is a smaller island of about 90 permanent residents off the coast of Westray. It takes about 25 minutes to get there by foot ferry. It'll be a bumpy ride today!

I've visited Papay each time I've stayed in Westray, see for example here and here. It is a beautiful island and if you're interested you can read more here. Amy Liptrot's book The Outrun is currently being filmed on Papay so who knows what we might see.

Although it is windy the sun is set to shine all day so I anticipate a good visit. On our return I will pop along to Pierowall Fish which, on Saturday evenings, becomes Jack's Chippy. Two pre-ordered fish suppers will await collection to round off the day.

That's the plan anyway!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.