Papay from Fitty Hill

Fitty Hill is the highest summit in Westray. At only just over 500 feet it really isn't a big hill but the path to the trig point at the top is very steep. We climbed up this morning. Here is the view west over to lovely Papay on the horizon. On a clear day the views would be outstanding but it's turned a bit murky here as the bright sunny weather starts to break. For my own records there's a collage of today's sunrise in extras. It's the last of the spectacular daybreaks we're going to see I think. Thank you for all the stars and hearts for yesterday's.

Going up Fitty was hard work but coming back down was tricky. At one point I tripped and to my annoyance ripped my jacket on some barbed wire. Cameraman has kindly patched it with duct tape. I'm going to need my jacket next week. I'm a bit tender but nothing a session in the hot tub won't fix.

Yesterday's trip to Papay was memorably wonderful. We walked more than 11 miles round the island in brilliant sunshine. Found a new tea room with perfect gf almond and cherry cake as well as good coffee. Met lots of the film crew including a very friendly 'grip' in the bird hide on North Hill. Also met the locum GP who has just arrived and was taking in the white sand, turquoise sea and plentiful seals. Had a picnic on the beach. I'm so glad we chose to go yesterday to see Papay at its best.

Hunkering down now to watch the sea turn rougher as the wind speed increases.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.