Good Morning Pierowall

I find it very hard to photograph a sunrise that conveys what it was like in the flesh, so to speak. I suppose it's because you have to be there and experience the whole thing. It is difficult because it's just another sunrise but today's, for me, was a really special one. It is to do with the location and the surprise/delight of being here this year.

Anyway I've done my best with it and I hope you like it. This has to be today's blip as a record for me of the way the day started. I was up as usual far too early (what is this about?) and came through to the front of the cottage to put the kettle on. That went on hold for ages as I went out with the camera. Even Cameraman, usually a sound sleeper, joined me. What a breathtaking sunrise. An absolute treat.

The light was changing by the minute as the sky grew pink, then red, then back to pink over Papay. The water caught the reflections. 90 minutes later and it's still happening. Boats are out, geese are overhead and the cormorant in the extra is still on the jetty.

This is our last full day in Westray. We will walk, have a big lunch at the cafe/bistro and return to pack and tidy the cottage. It is set to be a glorious day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.