Bees

These honey bees are getting ready for winter. They're collecting pollen to make enough honey to keep themselves going for the next five or six months. The honey for human consumption has been extracted and put into jars. In a couple of months the bees will be hunkered down till the very early spring pollen puts in an appearance.

The beekeeper is a friend. Today I walked over to her garden to collect two jars of the bees' lovely honey. Last year the honey was from lime blossom. This year she wasn't so sure but possibly Himalyan Balsam which bees adore. Looking forward to my toast tomorrow.

I was caught in a couple of sharp showers but it's been sunny and warm for most of the day so far. This will give me the encouragement I need to get into the garden and do a bit more clearing and cutting back. Then more steps will be required to keep up the practice for kiltwalking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.