Burası Türkiye (This is Turkey)

This morning Graham and I in our 'management committee' hats (yonetici) went to see the accountant who deals with some of the financial aspects of our site. Inflation has affected the national minimum wage and utility costs which has implications for our community. All sorted, endeavor's were rewarded, on my part at least, by an  afternoon that included chatting with neighbours and swimming 24 lengths - which is only 312m (and not all in one go I hasten to add!) but at least it meant I didn't feel guilty when I went with Graham and Kat and devoured an entire plate of English style fish and chips tonight at Ali's cafe in Didim. 

The photo, is a bit of a fail (Martin, where were you?!), grabbed as I walked to the car, and had insufficient courage to stop and take the shot properly, so I'm not sure if it's easy to see that the villager is sitting on the kerb  outside a store, directly underneath their enormous advertisement for living room furniture. The contrast between the two women is such a good statement about Turkey today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.