The Two Ages Of Wood

I went for a wander in the woods this morning - I was thinking that the textures on this old rotting tree stump would be a good blip subject…I have blipped the whole thing a couple of times before.

As I was looking more closely at various parts of the wood I noticed this unusually regular shaped bit of wood poking out ….

Closer inspection revealed that is in fact an old plank (4”x1” ish), remarkably well preserved …so I reckon it is a part of an old  fence railing. It is totally encased by the tree growth, so I think that at some point the tree has leant against the fence and continued growing around it.

I thought it was quite silly really …the plank has presumably been treated to prevent rot and the tree is rotting around it.

Anyway - managed a hand held 5 shot focus stack!!

My entry for Silly Saturday - kindly hosted by 60plus this month

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.