GETTING SHIRTY

Rather a frustrating day in more ways than one.

Newcastle United were playing at home today against Crystal Palace so I set off around 1.40pm to get the bus to Newcastle.  No problems there.  It came on time and the traffic was fine so I got to town in good time.

Made my way to St James Park.  Put my season ticket into the slot at the turnstile .... it wasn't accepted.  This happened the last time I was at the match but the turnstile chap said to just go through.  But today due to it happening twice he sent me to find a steward.  The steward checked on his machine and he found a problem with the issue number printed on my ticket.  He told me to contact the box office.  I've sent them an e mail this evening.  Hopefully they will just send me another - valid - season ticket in time for the next home game.

On to the match.  Newcastle did play well I think considering some of their key players are still missing.  They had lots of chances to get a goal -  especially in the first half - but just couldn't get the ball in the net.

There was a controversial incident early in the second half when Newcastle scored - but the goal was disallowed following a check on VAR.  However from what I can tell the goal should have stood so " We Wuz Robbed " again.  Referee decisions don't seem to be going Newcastle's way at the moment. So the match ended in a 0 - 0 draw. 

Took my blip shot at the match.  Its for Silly Saturday in memory of Admirer - hosted today by 60plus.  I'm sure Admirer would be amused at the sight of this colourful shirt.  The face on the shirt is Newcastle player Joelinton. The chap wearing is  sits in the same row as me and looks very different from the front - he's no spring chicken and has a long grey beard. 

After the match I popped into Waitrose and then went to catch a bus home. Turned into a frustrating journey.  Bus was 15 mins late to start with.  Then my OAP bus pass wasn't accepted by the machine. I couldn't believe it.  It has worked perfectly well for years.  Anyway the bus driver wasn't bothered and I just sat down..Then the bus took ages to get out of the centre of town due to heavy traffic. Then when it reached the main street in my village it broke down!   The driver fiddled about in his cab and got out a few times ( to kick the silly bus no doubt ).  He tried waiting a couple of mins  then trying to start it again- but it wasn't playing ball.  So he decided it wasn't going anywhere.  He said we should all get on the next bus that came.  We had been stopped for about 10 mins by then.  I was lucky as the next bus came in 5 mins and It was one that would take me home. It was a bus going to the Metrocentre.  However no-one else got on it as I guess most of them were travelling all the way to Stanley.  And the next bus due for them was in 25 mins.... if that turned up at all.  The buses round here are a nightmare.  Lack of drivers and breakdowns lead to so many cancelled buses every day.  Its so frustrating trying to go anywhere. Thats me " Getting Shirty " ( meaning ....... bad-tempered or annoyed)

After that frustrating day I've had a nice relaxing evening.  Enjoyed salmon for my tea and watched TV.  Looking forward to Match of the Day - lets see what Alan Shearer has to say about that disallowed goal.

Steps today - 7,077

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.