Lil RBG: What's She Got That I Haven't Got?

I had mentioned buying some awesome local sweet corn on Friday. T. Tiger and I discovered that one of the ears of Himmel's corn had a tiny papoose! A small ear was tucked in against a bigger one.

We rescued the tiny ear of corn, and T. Tiger was smitten! He began to call it "my lovey." Lil RBG got into the act: "What's she got that I haven't got?" she asked. And it went . . . from there.

The soundtrack song is this one: Dolly Parton, with Jolene. I'm also adding the really fun update by Chapel Hart, You Can Have Him, Jolene.







Three other pieces of news:

1. The first part of my fall bulb order apparently did NOT get sent back in time, or to California. It arrived on Friday, and T. Tiger and I planted the brand new blue iris rhizome on Dexter's grave in our meadow on this day's afternoon. It is called Sea Power bearded iris. Yeah, I bought a $12 rhizome. Yes, that was for ONE RHIZOME. *gulp* I sure as heck hope none of our yard critters get a hunger for it and eat it!

2. I hope you caught some of the Taylor Hawkins (drummer for the Foo Fighters) tribute concert on Saturday night. We tuned in for bits and pieces of it, going back and forth between channels, as we watched our usual two Saturday night Columbo episodes. Dave Grohl (front man for the Foo Fighters and former drummer for Nirvana) broke down and cried singing Times Like These. Here's the original video version, where everyone looks SO YOUNG. And here's a lovely acoustic version.

3. The news from the Internetz on this day is that the hackers are winning. The second Instagram account I set up a few days ago has already been hacked. I went into Instagram on Saturday morning to discover a message stating that my account had been suspended for violating Community Guidelines, and that I had 30 days to disagree with their decision. Of course, I disagreed with the decision, and filled in my email so they'd send me a 6-digit code to get back in. Entered the 6-digit code from the email. Then they want to send a text message to a cell phone, when in fact, I NEVER HAD A CELL PHONE IN MY LIFE. So that is where I'm stuck. Again. This is how it ended with Ticketmaster. This is how it ended with TikTok. This is how it apparently also ends with Instagram.

You know, Instagram is a strange place. It's like the place everybody wants to go, but when you actually get there, there is nobody really there. It's like a little hallway of mirrors, reflecting the light of a distant flame. The flame is a mirage. It shakes and dances but it has no substance; it has no warmth.

On a more technical note, my current opinion is that Instagram is basically a cell phone app trying to masquerade as a browser-based application. I joined Instagram via Web access on February 19, 2021. It did not have any sort of actual Web interface, and I accessed it via the hack of using developer tools via Chrome to sign into Instagram in by pretending to be a cell phone user! It was a clunky hack, but it worked. Finally, they created a Web interface, and it was easier to sign in.

Nowadays, they act like you can sign up for Instagram using EITHER a phone number (must be capable of texting, people!) OR via an email address. But when push comes to shove, the only way to haul your bacon out of the fire is via a cell phone text.

Cell phone peeps, enjoy your time on Instagram! Guess what. I'm giving up! You won't be seeing me on Instagram, for I'm locked out! (No, I'm NOT buying a cell phone JUST for Instagram! They can BITE ME!!!) And THAT is the rest of the story! Farewell to Instagram! Maybe when the web-based version grows up a little, I'll be back. . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.