There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Bald Eagle SP Beach Scene, Labor Day Weekend

We are heading into a hot spell here in central Pennsylvania. They are threatening us with temperatures in the 90s F for several days in a row. Sunday was the start of the heat, but it wasn't too bad at Bald Eagle State Park, where my husband and I went for a Labor Day weekend swim.

We'd stopped on the way to buy sweet corn. One of the neighbors was selling it for $4 at the Centre County Christian day care (the same place the Scouts sold hoagies the day before) for a baker's dozen. But when I handed him my money, Mr. Evanko said, "Take 13, 14, 15!" The ears were somewhat smaller today, and he wanted to make sure I got my money's worth!

We also had our hoagie with us from the day before. I'd assembled it at home and cut it in semi-halves (we split one: he gets about 60%, I get about 40%), and we ate it first thing, at a picnic table at the park.

I'd bought a new black bikini top on sale a week or two ago; it has plenty of support, and adorable lacing in the back. I had brought it along but wasn't sure I was brave enough to wear a two-piece. The ones I have from days of old are way too small on top these days. The new one fits perfectly, and I have black bikini bottoms to go with it.

So I brought along a standard one-piece like I always wear, but the bikini too. And in the changing room, I took a big breath and I put the black bikini on. And then I sauntered out onto the beach to show off my wares, I guess, as all the people do.

It wasn't as bad as I'd expected, especially once I was actually IN the water, when it doesn't matter really what you've got on. The water was the warmest water that we ever swim in, and it was about the temperature of bath water. Or at least it seemed that way to me.

Above you may see a scene from our little land-locked beach adventure. This is the beach area at Bald Eagle State Park. I was taking the photo from my chair, which is in the shade beneath a large tree. That is where we always sit. From there, we can people-watch and enjoy the views of the lake.

I always keep an eye on our stuff and our chairs when I am in the water, prepared to leap out and chase somebody down if necessary. But it hasn't ever been necessary. Thank goodness, I guess, for who knows how functional that new swim suit top might be when pressed into jogging activities. Hello, potential wardrobe malfunction! Let's all be glad it didn't go down that way.

We did have two people and a black dog sit down in the shade right in front of us (you can see them at the bottom of the shot in the shadows), but the dog was an old dog, and a well-behaved dog, and it didn't offer up a peep when we came back and got our stuff and our chairs and headed for the showers.

I noticed when I downloaded all of the pictures that my shot includes my husband, on the left, walking toward me in maroon trunks with his blue towel - hey, wait, that's MY blue towel! - wrapped around him.

Later, when we got home, we talked about some of the people on the beach, and I was a real Chatty Cathy, commenting on what everyone else was doing, and saying, and wearing. In the end, "I don't know," my husband said; "All that I saw was you."

My soundtrack song is this one: the Bee Gees, with I Can't See Nobody.

I can't see nobody, no, I can't see nobody.
Mine eyes can only look at you, you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.