Meet Quarter Pounder!

We had a new visitor on the deck on this morning. It was a rascally, high-energy little red squirrel. It bounded and bounced and leapt around like it was on crack. It jumped through the trees and bushes, and ran all over the place. Then it stood on the section of the deck railing that was broken last year when the latest tree fell on our house, and POUNDED!!! And POUNDED!!!

Well, there is a huge gray squirrel that does the exact same thing! It goes to the broken railing and stomps and pounds around like it's testing the area. It does it so often that we've named the huge squirrel Pounder. Both because it POUNDS around, and because it looks like it weighs about a pound.

Well, say hello to Quarter Pounder! which is the name my husband came up for the new little red squirrel! It's maybe about a fourth the size of the gray squirrel. And it's high energy. We think Quarter Pounder is a fine name for a red squirrel!

Also, I have received input from friends who have had them around that you do not want red squirrels inside your house. They can do a lot of damage by chewing on things, especially concerning if some of those things are electrical.

I told my friends that if the red squirrels want to move into our house, they're going to have to go mano a mano with the flying squirrels, who got here and claimed the space first. Yes, we've had flying squirrels in the house at least three times during the going-on-twenty-ish years since we've lived here. It's very hilarious, but only after the fact!

The last flying squirrel invasion was *checks calendar* 442 days ago! When I caught one in our bedroom with the butterfly net and put it in a container and took it out onto the front porch, where I released it, and it ran down the steps into the night! (This is why I sleep with a butterfly net under the bed!)

Anyway, welcome and well met to Quarter Pounder! The only song I could think of with Quarter in it is Quarterflash, with Harden My Heart. I had no idea that the lady who sang also played the sax. Wow!



P.S. Remember me telling you that my first Instagram account was re-hacked recently? And then that the second account that I set up to watch over the first one was also hacked? Oh, come on; I know you're all DYING to hear the latest. Oh yes, you are!

Well, late in this day, I suddenly remembered that . . . there is another Skywalker. . . . No, actually, I remembered that I had yet a third email account! I thought - well, I should at least create a NEW Instagram account using that email, so I can go in and report that the second email address was hacked.

Somebody wise (not me) once said that insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. Well, WELCOME TO MY INSANITY. All right? This is where things get REALLY squirrelly.

I went into Instagram, started to create a new account, typed in the 6-digit code from email to confirm, and then . . . (oh, this just gets better and better) . . . Bingo! Up came the screen informing me that that BRAND NEW ACCOUNT had been suspended . . . "for not following Community Guidelines!" IT DID NOT EVEN EXIST YET!!!

Well, I don't know whether to laugh or cry, and I'll admit that while I was quite grumpy when it happened (I'm typing this on the day after), I'm sort of laughing hysterically now. WTF!!??? Hackers, you really, really win. I don't have any more email accounts.  Strike THREE . . . and I'm OUT!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.