Should I Stay Or Should I Go?

The ruby throat hummingbird population around here is dwindling. The adult males typically migrate first to Central and South America, leaving behind the females and juveniles. One of their most impressive feats is traveling across the Gulf of Mexico (a distance of 500 miles) non-stop.

We still have a couple of birds in our yard in central PA - mostly the females, I think - they are still chasing each other, and on this rainy morning, I sat by the deck door windows and watched one of the ladies eat.

The little birds are packing on the weight to prepare for their big journey, so they are eating up a storm. It is especially important during this time to keep the feeders clean and full. Even after the birds have left your yard, it's good hospitality to keep the feeder up for a while for any birds who may be passing through. The experts recommend leaving feeders up into October.

I have sat and watched our birds, and they sometimes like to rest on the clothes line that the feeder hangs from. They sit there looking so serious and thoughtful. I keep imagining that each and every day they get up in the morning and ask themselves this one critical question:

Should I stay or should I go?

The soundtrack song - you guessed it already! - is the Clash, with Should I Stay or Should I Go?

Link: Hummingbird Migration: A Marvel of Nature.

P.S. On a more personal note . . . you know, I really HATE it when they leave! I miss them so! It was one of my life-long dreams to have hummingbirds, and we DO NOW. We have been living the dream! When they go, I get a little depressed. The yard will no longer be full of their chirps and squeaks that are like the laughter of children. I always wonder in the winter time when they are gone - do they dream of our yard, do they dream of Home?  <3

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.