Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

82, at home.

Sometimes I do a selfie on my birthday, but I did that yesterday.  That’s enough.  Today was to recharge.   Lots of cards and messages.  Very nice.   Took a walk and went to buy a bag of coffee beans and when I opened the Starbucks app, it said” Happy Birthday Karen,, Have a free drink on us!   Wow.  So I did.  Strawberry cream and coffee frappuccino.   Wicked but good.   Took it to the roof deck at home with Poppy and her professional MD alter ego, the only people I talked to all day in person (except for H and the barista and one FaceTime with a friend that calls before either of us are dressed).  Took some time to partly catch up the week of photos on the computer…. it hasn’t been opened since Monday, unfortunately (thank heavens for the iPhone)    Even tho I hate to cook, and thot we’d get take out I really don’t want to go anywhere for food so will do simple salmon and baked potato in oven (and gazpacho from Mike and her tomatoes).  82 cheese balls will arrive on another day.   :-)   But not to worry,, there will be a celebratory dinner tomorrow with H’s brother and sil who are coming to town from Colorado and the rest of the family that is in Seattle now.   Last time they came I cooked a meal and then tripped over the dishwasher door and you know what happened….so didn’t get to see them!   I’m trying to be extra careful! 
Extra,  one of our favorite neighborhood restaurant choices  has closed!   We will miss them. 

Edit:   just thot I'd add this...now that I have more details of the news that arrived while I was at Hamilton yesterday.  .... usually we are at the island for this birthday day ..but we needed to be here this year for Fi and Maple.  But if we had been there we could maybe have helped yesterday when our neighbor Jeff across the bay crashed his helicopter with 3 passengers on take off.   We are the closest boat.   Too long to explain here but all 4 are ok with some broken bones and scrapes.   Very scary and very dramatic with big wind, I think a mechanical failure, and a SARS rescue helicopter that brought all 4 up in baskets to take to hospital.  He has broken ankle and thinks he'll be back to island soon.   The helicopter is in the water at bottom of the rocky shore edge. (Other extra) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.