Labels, numbers and trees

A reasonable start to the day, though rain was forecast. It would normally be my afternoon to continue the plant recording at Dunollie , but as Mrs M was away with the car I had asked her friend Jane for a lift as she lives just along the road and also attends the sewing group at Dunollie. Unfortunately I heard last night that she wasn't well and wouldn't be going, so tried another member of the group, who turned out to be away. Oh well, there's always next week!

Then just as I'd got organised to do something else, a third member phoned to offer me a lift, so I threw a picnic into a bag and set off. I've more or less got through the first part of the garden, The Shrubbery, tagging and numbering the trees, so began the next section, The World of Trees. There are a few large specimens here, though the best of them, a walnut, was in poor shape and was felled recently. This beautiful pine is one of the few on the database so far, just labelled White Pine. In the foreground is the felled walnut. A lot of work ahead!

As I walked up the road after being dropped off the rain began in earnest and looks like continuing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.