Living my dream

By Mima

Support

The broad beans have grown a bit patchily. I think those nearest the camera are in slightly damper soil, being downhill from those furthest away. I shall try watering the far end a little more and see if they catch up.

The first string of their wind support is up. As they grow I’ll add more strings to stop them falling over in our seasonal norwester's between now and summer.

It’s been a slightly warmer day, but I’ve had a mainly indoors one, mostly painting and writing a letter.

The youngest of my three brothers (all of whom are older than me) suffers from vascular dementia. He is increasingly confused and subject to hallucinations. In addition his sight, balance and general mobility are all increasingly compromised. It’s a bloody awful thing. I weep for him.

All three of the boys live in the UK and whilst the other two are able to help in very practical ways, about the only useful thing I can do is to send #3 brother letters and photos, full of family memories and to make sure he knows he’s loved. I do my best to support the others too.

So today’s letter was a carefully-worded two-pager, using simple language to describe my spring garden, tales of Bean and a remembering a couple of childhood events. Somebody will read it to him when it arrives in his letter box in a week or two. I hope it sparks some interest and enables him to have a few moments when his hallucinations are held at bay by my words.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.