Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

Trial run for a birthday cake on Saturday?

Tried out a cake today for the first time using raspberries from the freezer/garden (2012) and our own eggs of course. Went quite well but made the mistake of trying to save energy last night by making myself ham & cheese on toast while simultaneously whisking up the sponge mixture. Needless to say both suffered, the one got to be a darker shade of brown and the other went flat hanging around for a place in the oven. Not to be recommended. Today ran out of pistachios for the decoration and didn't realise that the heated glaze went hard quite so quick. Mine might have looked better/shinier if I had used water rather than the raspberry juice for the glaze (to which I added a shot of Himbeergeist as well as in the filling). Think mine may taste better though! A few lessons learnt.
If you look closely at the recipe book, you might see "Charlotte" and my like-named granddaughter will be 3 on Saturday but sadly many miles away in Ireland. Perhaps I will get the chance to make her one in the not too distant future. Apparently the warm version was "invented" by George III's German wife and the cold version uses Crème bavaroise (Bavarian cream) - a heap of links.
For all Blipers working hard like me on this bank holiday "Day of Work" hope you have a wonderful day. Think I might take the UK bank holiday on Monday as well, afterall, I am a British citizen.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.