Day Off

Managed to have a day of tourism today. We went for a cruise from Geneva to a small town by the name of Coppet. It. was about an hour on the boat shown in the picture.

There are several of the old paddle steamers operating on the lake. As far as I could make out this one dates from 1914, so defintirely a venerable old lady. The machinery in the engine room is gleaming and probably as good as the day she first set sale.

We had about an hour and a half in Coppet when we took the ship back to Geneva. Coppet itself has an old historic centre which is quite quaint and picturesque, so we had plenty of time for a wander round.

In the evning I had my first proper meal in a restaurant since coming out of hospital. It was only a plate of pasta and an ice cream, but still a taste of luxury.

In the extra a photo of a building I passed in the morning. I was very taken by the multi-coloured shutters.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.