BBQ picnic for two

The conference wraps up today. Woody invites me for lunch across the road at The Scorecard.

He suggests the BBQ picnic for two and two huge platters of meat arrive. There’s little in the way of vegetables (some BBQ beans and some slaw) and less in the way of cutlery. It’s a carnivorous meal and we are not equal to it…. though we make a valiant effort.

To recover, I spend some time at the pool. There are quite a few conference colleagues hanging out there this afternoon and we have interesting conversations… until I decide it’s time to check into my Airbnb.

It’s a compact apartment in a residential street. There are a few complementary cans in the fridge and not much else. I make myself at home and, after a short nap, head downtown to meet up with Sath & Scott and others.

We leave near closing time and I decide to walk home. After five minutes or so I realise that I’ve left my hat, so it’s back to the bar to collect it. And then a thirty minute walk through a very warm night, back to my digs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.