HEYSHAM OLD CHAPEL

Despite the weather today I was determined to go out and I needed some seashore photos for a project.  So I decided to go Heysham Village as I haven't been since before covid.

I'm afraid it "tiddled" it down the whole time I was there, but undeterred I pressed on.  I started of by visiting "Curiosity Corner" for a lovely coffee. This and St Peter's Church cafes were the only ones open today and I didn't know about the church one until later!


I did have my bright red raincoat with me, so I had the hood up and the camera firmly clutched underneath it so it wouldn't get wet and I walked around the village,along the shore for a little while. Sadly there were still 3 or 4 photos ruined because a raindrop fell on the lens just as I pressed the shutter and it didn't really look like it on the screen, till  I put it on the computer!!!


I had hoped to walk to Half Moon Bay but the weather was not  good enough for that.  

So I went into St Peter's Church and got chatting to one of the warders there who was telling me about it's very long history and  the social history, which I found really interesting.
 This tiny church is dramatically perched on a cliffside and is so pretty, it's a real gem.  It is Grade I Listed and must have one of the most picturesque settings in the country, looking out over Morecambe Bay to the panorama of the Lakeland hills (but not today due to the weather).
There are remains some of the Anglo-Saxon building from around 800AD but most of the present building dates from the 14thC and from around 1500. Inside the church is a Norse hog-back stone from around 1000AD, which would originally have been a grave cover.


During restoration work in 1864 a chalice was discovered in a stone coffin outside the church, and the chalice is now on display inside. Access at regular church service times.

I then went back into Curiosity Corner for a delicious luncy of Roquefort, Walnuts and pickled blackberry salad and it was so scrummy and very crunchy without the need for those awful red onion rings and celery (just two things I personally do not like).

I came home to the news The Queen is not well and that all her children are there.  Very worrying.  Also G has not been well for the last two days so that is worrying too.

The photo is taken up on the cliffs just past St Peter' Church looking over to Morecambe.  The ruins are the site of an old chapel.  On a good day you can see right across The Bay to the Lakeland Fells in the distance, but not today.
That's it for today - do take care and stay safe and I will see you all tomorrow. Sorry for the delay in commenting on your blips, but I will catch up, it's only yesterday's that I'm behind on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.