An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Loch Rannoch…

Backblip

David was up and away early to play golf at Killin.  I lounged about reading my book and then attempted a charcoal drawing but since everything in this little holiday cottage is cream, I decided that might not be the best idea!

David returned happy with his round and we had a light lunch before heading off in search of the Fortingall Yew, one of the oldest living things in Europe.  I love that there are stone pavers in the graveyard leading to the tree detailing all the things the tree is older than....Stone Age man, Bronze Age man, the Picts, Roman Legions, Christians....to name a few :-)

On the road out of Fortingall I spotted something that made me screech STOP! and being an experienced driver of a blipper, D did just that.  

The reason for my sudden command was the sight of some yellow sheep in the field next to the road that I just had to photograph to send to my Blip pal Patricia in the USA who was very taken with some yellow sheep on her visit to Scotland in 2018.

As I chatted to them out the window of the car they came trotting over and were really keen to interact with us.  Unfortunately there was a rather tall wall between us which meant they disappeared from view.  One in particular was very vocal and made us laugh so much as it would baa very loudly, I would baa in return and it would reply.  This went on for ages!  Hahahahaha...we are easily amused.

Said goodbye to the yellow sheep and carried on our way over Tummel Bridge and left to Kinloch Rannoch to capture one of my favourite views up Loch Rannoch, to the peaks of Glencoe in the distance.  I have seen this view in all weathers and it never fails to disappoint.  Today there was a canoeist powering his way across the loch, and I mean powering!  He really was going at terrific speed!  Wonderful to watch.  There was also a pair of trainers tied to the fence beside the loch, which was an amusing sight.  Someone somewhere is short of footwear!

Didn't drive all the way around the loch today as we had dinner reservations at the Courtyard Brasserie.  Headed back to the cottage and for this first time this week, got caught in a heavy downpour.  Fortunately it had dried up by the time we got to the cottage and was still dry when we headed back out again.

We had an absolutely lovely meal in the Brasserie with very friendly service.   And the background music was our era (80s :-) so we enjoyed that too.  A little too much apparently as when Dire Straits' Romeo and Juliet ended the waiter and waitress applauded my singing effort!  Hahahaha...thank goodness the restaurant wasn't busy!!

Stuffed from our main courses and with no room for dessert, we headed back to the cottage, David to read his book and me to edit the day's photos.  Unfortunately we both fell sound asleep within about 5 minutes and woke up at 2am with a man on a tv shopping channel shouting at us about an amazing drone worth £1000 but selling for £150!  Our lives really wouldn't be complete without it apparently! 

Oh well.  I shall just have to live the rest of my days incomplete!  :-)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.