An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Mr Green Man...

First things first, Alan is much better today.  Phew!

He slept well and was happy to get showered, dressed, have breakfast and watch a film.  He was giggling and laughing when I came downstairs.  Music to my ears.  The GP phoned again and agreed all signs point to a urine infection so prescribed antibiotic designed to target that (he's had the first dose of that)

I was back at the health centre this morning for my monthly hormone implant designed to "plunge" me into menopause.  It's amazing how quickly the time passes when you have a monthly appointment like that.  Neither me or the nurse could believe it was a month since I was there last.   Felt like 10 days!

When I got back Alan was keen to have his lunch and was still in a good mood so D felt able to head to St Andrews for his appointment with the hygienist and I felt able to go to my monthly lunch with friends Fiona and Janice, as we were going to a local hotel that is very close to the house so if I was needed, I could have been back home in under five minutes.  Thankfully I wasn't needed.

Had a lengthy lovely lunch with Fiona and Janice and despite only seeing each other a month ago, we had a lot of catching up to do.  Fiona's mum was from Lewis and she still has many relatives there, so she was keen to hear about our holiday.  

Got home just before 6pm and Alan was still in a good mood although he did want some painkillers so he's obviously still feeling some discomfort but nowhere near the level from a couple of days ago.

D and I had a light picnic style dinner - some cold meat, salad, olives, melon with mint and feta and homemade coleslaw. Yum!

D is playing golf with our brother in law Kenny tomorrow so will drop me at Ele's where I will have lunch with her then we will stay at theirs for dinner.  The lovely weather is set to continue so think they are planning on having a BBQ.  That will just be the second BBQ of the summer, the weather has been so bad.

Re. my blip, last December we went to an art and craft show at The Bield, Tibbermore, near Perth.  Bought some Christmas pressies then we both spotted a stone carving by local stone carver Neil Paterson.  We hadn't intended to buy anything for us but we completely fell in love with him.  He is so tactile and the birds on his head are exquisite.  So he came home with us.  He's been in the garage special storage since then until we completed the garden clear out and replanting project this summer, and now he's on display at last! :-))

Took a while for us to agree where he should go but what has become clear that for the first year at least, he will move around the garden so we can enjoy him as much as possible. 

Over winter he will be with the winter jasmine where we can see him from the garden room, in spring he will go under the Japanese maple and greet the snowdrops, crocuses, daffs and bluebells, then when summer arrives I expect he will return to this flower bed so we can enjoy him when we eat in the garden (if the weather is as bad as this year he will probably return to the side garden so we can enjoy him from indoors! )

I messaged his maker when we bought him and promised I would send him some photos of him in situ.  Didn't think it would take this long, but earlier this evening I fulfilled my promise :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.