Then and now

Little did I know, when walking leisurely around Cromer late this afternoon, that today would end on such a sad note. I felt really sad that we have lost our lovely queen, inevitable though it was at her age, but she was such a strong monarch, and i hope Charles can step up and do her proud.

The day began with shopping, and also happy birthday messages to Manda posted to Facebook. I found a nice selection of photos to share of my baby sister. 55 Manda. You are catching me fast!

I had an online meeting this morning, then the monthly poetry group this afternoon. They are such a nice group - just 6 of us. The topic was shopping and quite a challenge - but everyone found several poems on the subject. Then I had a wander around Cromer where I saw the above photo in a shop window...then looked down the road to see it was the same road- perhaps 100 or more years ago.

Home and the next few hours we were focussed on the tv consumed by the BBC waiting for news of the Queen. I think we all knew what the outcome was going to be. Sadly. Jon and I saw her and Prince Philip just once. It was at the East of England Show. I took a photo of them in their open backed land rover- probably as much for the land rover as for them. I remember I had a black and white film in my camera. I guess they are in the loft.

I've been on my computer all evening, so a very late blip. Sorry!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.