... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Wandsworth Common: Ducklings

Thank you for such kind comments yesterday; I was really touched by your supportiveness.

I've found today tough; I keep instinctively reaching for my camera/bag only to remember. Boo :-(. Poor camera, off in some uncaring thief's hands... The insurance cogs are already turning, so hopefully some action isn't too far off (in whatever form it takes).

I visited Eagle Pond this morning, and Mr. and Mrs. Goosle seemed back to their usual selves which was nice to see; I couldn't see any of the mallardlings though which is sad. I went for a wander around the big pond on Wandsworth Common in the glorious sunshine this afternoon, and spotted 6 young ducklings with their mallard mother which made me smile. They're not very small, but are still adorably downy. This log was the closest they got to the edge; three hopped onto it initially, then one left, and these two settled down to snooze.

My phone has no optical zoom (it hardly has a lens at all...); I can only get close-ups by getting close up. That was relatively do-able with the Goosles (who are fairly used to my proximity), but these ducklings were already pretty savvy. I managed to get on to the log with these two (out over the water), but this is as close as I could get without them looking shifty. I like the way that they're nestled in a little groove in the log.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.