For Whom The Bell Tolls

I took Ollie dog to the village church to pay my respects to The Queen. As we arrived the bell started tolling and my tears began to fall.

I was met at the door of the church by the vicar. He thought I was the photographer for a wedding that was soon to take place. I asked if I could bring Ollie into the church and he hesitated but then relented. I told him that my daughter had been married here twenty-five years ago on the day of Princess Diana's funeral. The bittersweet memories came flooding back. I remember listening to the radio before I went to meet the then vicar about final arrangements. Strident mourners for Diana were castigating anyone who hadn't cancelled their events. I didn't know what to do but the vicar was kind and convinced me that our daughter's wedding should go ahead and what is more he said that the bells would peal out to celebrate it. It was a joyous occasion made very memorable by the unusual circumstances.

Yesterday, as my daughter and her husband were preparing to go to Monza for the Grand Prix to celebrate their Silver Wedding Anniversary, which was on the 6th, news came that our Queen was fading. It was almost as though history was repeating itself. I advised my daughter,  knowing that she loves The Queen, sad as it is she should make the most of this historic time, take all she can from it and not let it diminish the joy of her Silver Wedding celebrations.

My image shows the bell tower and a portrait of The Queen which is in the church. She looks very beautiful. It's the Pietro Annigoni from 1955. The Queen and the public loved this but it was considered by some to be chocolate-boxy. I've also included the lych-gate. The tolling bell is also known as the lych bell. I've added an image to extras of my daughter and son-in-law under the lych-gate after their wedding. 

I've told this story because it will resonate with my family who will read this. I know that we are not alone in associating events and bereavements in the Royal Family with those in our family.     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.