Countryside Condolences

God save the King!

After the pomp and circumstance of The Proclamation in London a BBC presenter said that people in the countryside would also be coming together at this time. I decided to turn the TV off and make for the Rodings, an area of Essex countryside near where I live. Ollie dog and I visited a number of churches, some closed, some open but deserted and some where we met people who had come to pay their respects to The Queen. We saw quite a few flags at half-mast, which was technically incorrect for today.

My image is from the interior of Greensted Church, the oldest wooden church in the world. As we were standing outside reading a notice saying that dogs are not allowed inside, some people inside opened the door, catching Ollie's foot. She screamed and stood on three legs for a while but soon got over it. German shepherd dogs are known for making a lot of fuss. The older man looked after her while I popped inside for my pic. I very much enjoyed telling the family, who have just moved into the area, all about the church and talking about The Queen and the historic nature of the times with them.      

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.