Party's (almost) over

The hardy annuals that I sowed to add colour after the spring bulbs and alpines were over have been making a great, colourful display but now they are looking tired as well as sprawling untidily.   As the autumn bulbs and cyclamen begin to appear it is almost time to pull them up.   The blue of this Convolvulus and the bright orange of the Californian Poppy will soon be replaced by much subtler pink colchicum and assorted crocuses.

A busy day that started early getting Jamie to the station for his train trip to see Clara.  C and her Meg passed me in the car park which led to joining them with my Meg for a lovely morning walk.   A lucky chance as if I'd not wandered up the platform to stand on the bridge and take in a different view up the high street, our paths would not have crossed!  After the walk some admin and a meeting with one of Jamie's support workers, lunch and a trip to Jamie's to clean his kitchen and collect food from his fridge.   With what was left of the afternoon I picked a big mixing bowl full of blackberries which I juiced as I cooked tea.   An hour in the greenhouse before it got too dark to see properly, short dog walk and all that's left is to turn that juice into Bramble Jelly!

Note to self ..... SLOW DOWN!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.