SUNFLOWERS

Im expecting Becky, Mike and Astrid to arrive tomorrow ... Mike is running the Great North Run on Sunday. ( Becky applied but didn't get a place ).  However there was almost a last minute change of plan which meant they would not heading North.  The GNR organisers announced yesterday that they might be cancelling the event due to the death of The Queen.  They did cancel the Junior Great North Run due to take place tomorrow.  However around lunchtime today they said that the main event would be going ahead.  I think thats the right decision as there are over 60,000 entrants many from abroad who will have booked travel and accommodation and who would be running the half marathon to raise money for charity. The runners are expected to raise around £25 million pounds.  Im sure Her Majesty would have approved of the race going ahead.

So I have been having a bit of a tidy up ready for my visitors.  I'm having to "Astrid - proof" the front room. Last time she was here she wasn't crawling so you could just plonk her down with some toys around her and she would stay put. Now she's into everything. So I've done my best but I'm sure I will be moving things as we go along. Still got a bed to make and a few final touches but I can do those tomorrow morning. All my activity has spooked Tino and Lily. They don't like the hoover for a start.

It rained all through the night and for most of today but around 4.30pm it finally stopped so I took my chance and walked to the Co-op.  However it was raining again when I came out of the shop.  Hopefully the weekend will be dry - especially on Sunday for the runners.

Neil and some of his friends are in Frankfurt for the weekend for a stag do . Im not expecting to hear anything about it as - " what happens on a stag do stays on a stag do".

I bought these sunflowers in the Co-op.  Its ages since I had fresh flowers in the house. And I wanted to blip flowers as a tribute to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth.   Thanks as always to  BikerBear for hosting Flower Friday.

Steps today - 10,149

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.