Robin's Pincushion

I started my day with my usual pre-work walk, then spent a long day at the laptop, with a break at lunchtime for some fresh air and a quick walk to stretch my legs.  I worked late and wasn’t able to give BB a lift to rugby tonight.  It rained again, though not quite as heavy as on Tuesday, though he did come home soaked.  He had just enough time to dry off and to grab a snack before he headed off to football training.  The rain continued and he came home soaked through.  I didn’t go out for my usual evening walk, as I didn’t want to get wet. 
 
Very sad news from Balmoral this evening.  I made BB watch TV rather than the film he intended watching, as it is a moment in history.  The end of an era.
 
I spotted this on my lunchtime walk. A bit of googling identified it as Robin’s pincushion.  Living up to its name, the Robin's pincushion is a red, round, hairy growth that can be seen on wild roses. It is caused by the larvae of a tiny gall wasp that feeds on the host plant, but causes little damage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.