In the woods

With a deadline of Monday 12th for final uploads to the local public art database, I'm mopping up a few items that I didn't photograph earlier in the summer. There are still many gaps within the project, so I'm hoping that the organisers will be able to run another phase of uploads soon. A meeting later in Sept should clarify those options, I think.

Meanwhile, today's outing took me back to Wheata Woods on the northern edge of the city. There's always a bit of a pang, visiting these woods, as I used to ride Milly here regularly (the pony I had in my care from late 2014 to 2020). She is much missed. But there is no way I could have managed to continue to look after her, or give her enough exercise, in the last couple of years. I know she's being looked after well with her current humans.

In these woods there are several works by the sculptor Ian Boyle. Three of them are rather beautiful seats, made with stone and timber. The fourth is a curving dry stone wall. All have been designed to blend into the woodland, almost to the point of becoming invisible at some times in the year. I like how they change with the seasons, the light, the weather. It's a peaceful place.  There's still intense green, in these trees, but here and there some leaves are beginning to turn yellow, and to drop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.