Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

In the night garden

A busy day report writing meant that I didn't take any photographs yntil well after dark, when I roamed the garden in search of interesting invertebrates. I found a surprising number of assorted spiders and moths, and flies, including at least two types of mosquito busy feeding on the Golden-rod. 

While not my favourite creature, mosquitoes are really quite beautiful when viewed closely - and of course the males are perfectly harmless and suck up nectar rather than blood! This one appears to be a Banded House Mosquito Culiseta annulata,  one of the largest mosquitoes in the UK, with spotted wings and boldly banded legs and abdomen.  Despite being in the midst of quite a number, I didn't get bitten!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.