SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

50

This morning's dog walk was extended when I met A&J, who reminded me that it was S' "50" today: her birthday, and her 50th ascent of Carnethy in the past year. S is much loved by the Harriers, as she's the force of nature who leads the road race organisation, is so encouraging to newcomers and novices, and is the major reason for the size of the club and its atmosphere.

It was too late for me to get to the meeting point, particularly after encountering D&K in the Estate and blethering about running and the Faroes. However, I took a route into the Pentlands that, as I anticipated, would be the one they were following. S' party was just walking, so I caught up with them on the final climb. There we found that one of the group had been up earlier in the morning and put out a line of balloons and "S 50" race numbers across the summit. Cake, prosecco and sparkling juice appeared from back-packs, and we had a brief party.

Django had been waiting patiently for me, away from all the little dogs that had been yapping at him, so I slipped away early and ran down Carnethy, up Turnhouse, and down into Penicuik. He won't need a long walk tonight! 

I'm on my own for the next two weeks because A left at 04:00 for a walking holiday in Portugal with three friends. So, in the afternoon, I shopped for beer at Stewarts, and food that I want to eat, before returning home to continue catching up with the Faroes week in my diary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.