Tiny Diamond Suns

I went out into the morning, which was covered in dew, and I walked my walk, as I am wont to do. I strolled through the developments and into the corner of the Barrens where my favorite pond was, but it is dry now. Just green grass and moss grow there now; there are no reflections to be had.

As I left the Barrens, I found a clump of flowers by the gate that were sparkling something fierce in the morning light. I imagined what they might look like as jewelry. Earrings, maybe? The bigger ones, a brooch or necklace. Something lovely from the Universe, a gift straight to me: tiny diamond suns!

I also had a thought, as I sifted through and processed our family visit on Friday. I remembered - with wonder - the very special dark butterfly, perhaps a kind I'd never seen before. And I remembered my father's big grin; his patch of orange flowers with oh-so-silky stems (yes, TOUCH them!). And I suddenly realized a truth.

I had wanted so badly to build a butterfly garden to honor my sister Barb who died, my sister the butterfly girl. And I planted a garden in her honor, a butterfly garden that didn't really amount to much in the end (though that one buddleia is still blooming!). And the replacement plants I planted - they didn't do anything either. What a dud.

But I realized I DID do a thing, and I GOT my butterfly garden. But it wasn't ME who planted it, I just provided the seeds. Sometimes you are not the hero, you are just the one who gives an assist that provides someone ELSE the opportunity to make the winning shot.

I understand now. I sent the Tithonia seeds to my father, who has an amazing green thumb. HE planted the seeds that made a butterfly garden for my sister, even though he sort of did it unwittingly. For two summers now, his butterfly garden has been providing a sweet home, and nourishment, and delight to countless butterflies, birds, hummingbirds, and bees!

You know what, Dad, we make an awesome team!

My soundtrack song for this image is this favorite tune from Glass Tiger, Diamond Sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.