BEYOND THE SEA

The day we visit Mum in Morecambe.  No problems getting there and Mum is good.  So we had our usual natter, sorted a few things out for her, had lunch then started back home, via Morecambe Prom.

Well I jumped out of the car to take a few photos whilst Hubby just sat there.  I ended up walking further than I intended so started back to the car.  The trouble is I forgot I was now looking for a different car and ended up walking back along the prom almost as far as Happy Mount Park and I knew we were nowhere near there.  I started to panic a bit (it doesn't  take much to get me in panic/anxiety mode these days) when i the distance I spotted hubby (thank heaven he is so tall) and rushed back, yelling and waving to him but he didn't see me till I was almost up to him!!!

Anyway we eventually got home OK, no problems. just a bit later than usual.

YESTERDAY'S PROCLAMATION
Just wanted to share that the Proclamation at St James's Palace yesterday brought back great memories.  Way back in the 1970s I was in the WRNS.  

There were either 8 or 10 of us were "asked" to form a Guard of Honour for Princess Anne as she was, at that time, Commandant in Chief of the WRNS.  This first part of this took place at the Royal Exchange where she was joined by Kenneth Moore to perform some  ceremony or other,  but for the life of me I  can't remember what!!!  We then had to march back along the road to the waiting mini bus to take us to St James's Palace.  TV crew and papers were there obviously and very embarrassingly my shoe came off right in the middle of  the road!!!!

We go to St James's Palace where we formed a Guard of Honour  for Princess Anne up some stairway.  After this we were then given a buffet meal in that actual throne room.  We weren't allowed to sit on the  throne,  obviously but we were allowed to stand in front of it and squat a little to look as if we were sitting.  It was also the very first time I had ever had real champagne and didn't know until then how "tiddly" it could you make you.   It was a lovely little event but I so wish I had photos of that day - I  have just one, with all of us stood  to attention on the  stairs, but that's it!!

Anyway that's all from me for today.  Do take care and stay safe and I will see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.