Hornet Hit

It was a battlefield reminiscent of the Game of Thrones with body parts of the dragon strewn across the area.  

A hornet had caught a migrant hawker dragonfly, taken it into the reed-beds, decapitated him and by the time I got the camera in any sort of position was munching the tail. I would say this for me was a precarious position slipping on the mud with a long lens - a macro would have been ideal with a hornet feasting on his prey inches away. 

I've tried to include the head in this shot which I picked up with a view of doing some macro and the mouth was still moving for at least 20 minutes. Yes I know - it was macabre and a bit gruesome. 

Not too sure the family in the car park were too impressed with it all but they made the right noises as I held my head specimen aloft.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.