Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Fight

I don't know a single nature photographer who doesn't love catching birds in flight, and none more than a hummingbird.  Tiny, dazzling, fast and with an ability to fly forwards, backwards, up, and down - what's not to love?  There were two immature ruby-throated hummers in the garden today, a male and a female, and epic battles were waged.  Never mind that there are plenty of flowers and several nectar feeders.  That is the nature of hummingbirds.

It was actually a good morning in the garden with some quick glimpses of several warblers, tanagers and all the usual backyard birds.  Catbirds are also moving through right now in large numbers and I got several really nice shots this morning.  I will put my favorite in Extra = it's worth looking in Large to see the feather detail.

I released the four Monarchs that emerged yesterday this morning, all in memory of the victims of 9/11.  Every single one of them took off and immediately oriented south - it's amazing to see them do this.  Earlier in the year, they don't have the drive to migrate so you don't see the unerring direction. There are three more that just emerged and another two that should come out today.  And I still have 15-20 chrysalids and four caterpillars.  Winding down.  

Jax has been barking today for no particular reason.  I was out in the garden stalking birds when he sounded the alarm, scaring the crap out of me - for absolutely nothing.  Silly dog.  

I think dark with sea salt today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.