Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Katy Did It

For my 2023 Yard Bugs List, a female Fork-tailed Bush Katydid (Scudderia furcata).  This is easily identified as a girl because her great big ovipositor is showing.  I'd have never seen her had I not been scouring the milkweed looking for the praying mantis that I thought had taken up residence.  I found the mantis this morning but no luck this afternoon.  But being a mantis, she could have been hiding in plain sight.  Which is what this katydid was doing.  I have not seen as many of these big katydids this summer - I suspect that the burgeoning population of big sphex wasps put a dent in the 'dids.  It's nice when nature works in harmony, though.

I went in very early this morning for my Radiofrequency Nerve Ablation and now keeping all fingers crossed that it will provide relief from the osteoarthritis  in my neck.  The procedure involved lidocaine injections to numb the area and then insertion of needles to test the nerve reaction and to finally ablate (cauterize) the nerves.  The idea is to sever the connection that sends the pain message to the brain.  It's a non-invasive procedure and isn't really painful although it definitely feels weird and somewhat unsettling.  The doctor and nursing staff were all terrific and gave me running commentary on exactly what they were doing (at my request since I was face-down and couldn't see a damned thing).  It will take 3-6 weeks to know the full extent of the the relief this will bring,  but I am very optimistic.  

I was doing some reading today about the connection between rheumatoid arthritis and osteoarthritis - I'm not sure why it hadn't occurred to me that the former can cause the latter.  One more reason to get the RA under control - I just wish the process was quicker.  That said, I am so very lucky to be living in a country where I can readily get in to see a rheumatologist (waits up to a year in some countries) and well covered by Medicare.  

The doc said that I am to take it very easy for a couple of days which isn't hard right since I'm tired.  In fact, after we got back, I took a very long nap.  He also said I should not walk Jax for a few days (fear of him seeing a bear or deer or rabbit or whatever and pulling me thereby putting pressure on the neck).  

Big thanks to JDO for hosting Tiny Tuesday this month - see all entries HERE

I am indulging in dark with dried cherries and almonds today.  And it's every bit as good as it sounds.

xo
Debbi

Notes for me:  right cervical radio frequency nerve ablation c5/6, c6/7

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.