An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Silly at sixty...

Backblip


After last night's excitement I had a bit of a lie in.  This is becoming a habit!

Our brother in law Kenny (David's sister's husband) is turning 60 next weekend (seems like only moments since he turned fifty!!) so we went out for a celebratory dinner along with Kenny's sister Aileen, our niece Jennifer, nephew Andrew and his fiancé Nikki and our great niece Esme.  oh, and Ele :-) We celebrated this weekend as E & K are off to Spain next Sunday so no late nights on the Saturday, which is his actual birthday.

We went to a child friendly pub/restaurant in their neck of the woods and the meal was booked for 5.30pm as any later three (almost four :-) year old Esme would have been falling asleep at the table (or being very cranky!) 

We were there at 5.30pm on the dot but the service was soooooo slow.  Starters were served at 6.20pm and the main courses didn't arrive till almost 7.15pm!  Those of us who didn't have a starter were gnawing the edge of the table by then!  The place was really quiet too so the delay couldn't be blamed on being busy.  I think they must have been short staffed in the kitchen (like so many places these days.)  The waiting staff were so apologetic and so lovely.  I felt sorry for them.

Thankfully when the food did arrive it was lovely and whilst waiting, Esme kept us amused by spinning round and round in her party dress and red DMs.  Such a cool kid :D

When we left the restaurant the plan was to go back to Ele and Kenny's but I'd been in agony with my hip most of the day and by that point all I wanted was my pjs on, feet up in my comfy chair, a cuppa, some co-codomol and a chocolate digestive.  Yip, this is what my Saturday night's have come to!  I am such a hot date!  lol  

We're seeing them next Saturday evening on Kenny's actual birthday, for a family dinner at their house so I can make up for my lack of birthday banter then :-))  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.