An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

40 year anniversary and a celebration of a life...

Backblip


We were up, out of the cottage and heading home by 10am.  The week really did fly by but we had such a lovely time.

Back home and time for D to get ready for tonight.  

He sings in a vocal harmony group and in 2020 it was the group's 40th Anniversary (they started off as The Madrical Group in school and carried on when the members left school, under the continued musical directorship of Ronnie, the music teacher who had set the group up in the first place.)  There are some original members still in the group (David's not an original but has been singing with them for 35 years so is one of the "old faces" :-)) 

The 40th Anniversary concert should have taken place in April 2020 but covid stopped that.  Sadly after a short illness, Ronnie passed away in July 2020 and between his sad loss and covid meaning the group couldn't meet up to rehearse, there was some doubt over whether they would be able to continue.

During covid, all members made a huge effort to meet via zoom on Tuesday evenings, the time they would normally rehearse.  First of all just to chat and help each other deal with the loss of Ronnie, a good friend as well as their musical director, then gradually thoughts turned to going ahead with a belated anniversary concert as a tribute to him.

As soon as they were able to meet up in person again they did and so began tentative attempts at singing.  Some of the songs they've been singing for many years so could do them with their eyes shut, but they knew the concert would never be able to go ahead without a new MD.  

After a few tentative starts, they struck gold in Stewart.  Young, musically gifted, a great talent and willing to take them on and get them up to concert standard for this very special occasion.  Whether things would continue with the group after that remained to be seen.

And so Cumbernauld theatre was booked, rehearsals took place and the night finally dawned.

The group had previously sang in old Cumbernauld theatre, but tonight's concert was in the new theatre. We saw Cloudbusting there in June and were really impressed with the venue.  

And so at 7.30pm, with the audience all in place, the MD and the band began playing the overture and the group took to the stage... 

I have been to many, many, many of their concerts during the years but with this being their 40th anniversary concert, and the loss of Ronnie and Helen (one of the altos who also sadly passed away during covid) this was going to be an emotional evening for the group and all the family and friends in the audience.  Well all I can say is they did us and themselves and their new musical director proud.

Andy, one of the original group members did most of the compèring during the evening, introducing the songs and talking a bit about the group and Ronnie.   He did a fantastic job.  I know it wasn't easy for him but he's a natural charmer :-)

Blip pal LeeAnne had seen the group's Facebook page advertising the concert and asked if she could come.  I said of course she could but was a little bit worried it wouldn't be her cup of tea.  Thankfully she enjoyed it, as did we all.  The group sounded fantastic and did themselves, Stewart and mostly Ronnie, proud.  We clapped, sang along, dabbed our eyes at emotional moments and generally had an all round great time.

Of course, as ever at concerts, during a quiet introduction to a song, there was one idiot who'd forgotten to switch their phone off and a muffled little piano riff could be heard.  I was sitting in the front row and turned round to my right following the direction of the sound, to give the culprit the benefit of my frown.  That's when I realised everyone else was looking in my direction, including David over the top of his specs from the stage!  Jeezus!!  It was my phone!!!!  CRINGE!!!!! 

As I'd gone into the concert hall I made a point of putting my phone on silent but had forgotten I have a daily alarm set for 9.30pm (a reminder to take medication!) and of course the alarm over-rides the silence function!  I quickly turned my phone off, forgetting that by doing so I hadn't cancelled the alarm, just snoozed it for 10 minutes!  So yes, the bloody thing did go off again!  UTTER MORTIFICATION!  but I was forgiven and everyone found it very amusing to laugh at my embarrassment afterwards, so happy to be of service! :-)))

As I mentioned, the group started in High school and there were many ex-members of the group there this evening as well as other friends from school that we haven't seen in many, many years.  It was so lovely to catch up with them.  

I was chatting with one of them when I heard my name being shouted and before I knew what was happening I was being bear hugged by a woman I haven't seen for over quarter of a century....my old French teacher AC!  

OMG!  What a wonderful surprise.  She was absolutely the BEST teacher I ever had. Mad as a hatter, the school rule book went out the window and she taught us French in her own idiosyncratic way, wandering along the rows of desks screaming écoute et répète as she belted out phrases in French then poked us with a pointy finger to alert us to the fact we were the chosen one to parrot back whatever phrase she had just bellowed.  

She also taught us rude words in French.  I mean how better to engage disinterested 13 year olds to learn a new language than with the promise of the odd swear word or rude phrase thrown in!  :-))  And it worked.  We all adored her.  And I excelled in French.  You wouldn't know it now but I do still remember the rude bits!  hahahaha....Oh it was so lovely to see her. 

She recalled that the last time we met was at a mutual friend's wedding when I was pregnant with Alan, and she was trying to coax me to get up onto the table with her, where she stood, glass of champagne in one hand, other arm stretched up above her head as she belted out Je ne regret rien at the pitch of her voice.  She did Edith Piaf proud! 

So after all the stress and worry, minimal rehearsal time, and loss, it was a truly wonderful night.  And best of all, Stewart has agreed to take up the role of the group's new MD on a permanent basis, so it's not the end after all.  A fabulous result.

P.S. Photos courtesy of LeeAnne as after the second alarm-gate I switched my phone off completely and didn't dare switch it on again!  Thanks LeeAnne :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.