"If I Could Save Time in a Bottle..."

I've always loved that old Jim Croce song and I do love creating assemblages, this one is a sort of meditation on time.  The box is my mother's jewelry box I got 20 years ago after she died.  I knew I would do something with it at some point.  I added some of her jacks and marbles that are close to 100 years old, a physical remnant of time.  The round shape in the lower middle is the Celtic wheel of the year that actually spins.  The black u-shaped item at the top is a huge clothing hook, probably from a coat, I found in grandma's button jar, another link to the past.  It was a challenge to engineer, which is one of the things I love about making assemblages that move.  I've added an extra photo of the cover and a collage of 4 details of the piece.  The photo on the cover is one I made in a monastery I stayed in a few years ago, the spiral is a special symbol for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.