150k

The morning walk with Django was lovely, but I was in a hurry, as I was trying to squeeze in a visit to Mum before going into work because she was clearly most unsettled. In the end, it was still "breakfast" when I arrived at the care home, so I couldn't see her. On my way our (diesel) Nissan Note notched up 150,000 miles. We've never got near that with a car before, and it's still running OK.

In work I was advising new students on course choices, and my need for "ownership of the academic process" seems to have been accepted without a problem - but only in the context of a lot of other chaos due to the admin "empire" that has been created. To think that ten years ago I administered the whole programme with the occasional help of a part-time secretary - as well as teaching two courses! Fortunately I don't appear to have upset the Student Administrator I'm working with, and we had a nice chat in a quiet period. 

On my way home, I called in on Mum, who was soon rather better than she'd sounded this morning. We discussed a few things that she'd like to have brought - but she can't have the piano that was sold 7 years ago!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.