fletch49er

By fletch49er

Spending My Summer Days With Doug McClure

Thinking back to when I was young
Never-a-care just having fun
Running round with guns and sticks
Kissing girls, well we grew up quick

Sunny week-ends at the swimming pool
Laughed at Donnie playin' the fool
But every week I hear that call
That draws me back to the picture halls

Tall grass playin' hide'n'seek
Playin' football in our local league
Olympics, tennis, best man falls.
Believe it boy! We played them all

Boardgames, out on the grass
Huddled round, as time goes fast
But every week I hear that call
That draws me back to the picture halls

Stale smoke, and sliver screens
Dark halls and fantasies
Spending my Summer days, with Doug McClure
Stale smoke, and sliver screens
Dark halls and fantasies
Spending my Summer days, with Doug McClure

Down to Millport for a week or two,
Never bored 'cause there's loads to do
Run around that place on the firth.
Bike rides to the ends of the earth

Lazy days, well that's O.K.
Stuff your face at the Ritz Café.
But every week I hear that call
That draws me back to the picture halls

Sun beats down on the street
Melts the tar beneath our feet
Can't resist just got to play
Smell of turps as it's wiped away


Got to go there's no more time
And now I'm left to force this rhyme
But every week I hear that call
That draws me back to the picture halls

Stale smoke, and sliver screens
Dark halls and fantasies
Spending my Summer days, with Doug McClure
Stale smoke, and sliver screens
Dark halls and fantasies
Spending my Summer days, with Doug McClure

Spending my Summer days, with Doug McClure

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.