Groatie Buckies

When I was away in Orkney I entered two raffles. The first was huge with many wonderful prizes. My tickets weren't drawn in that one. The second was a much smaller affair and this time I was lucky. One of my tickets was the winning one for this bracelet made with cowrie shells, or groatie buckies as they're known in the north east of Scotland, Orkney and possibly Shetland too. 

The raffle organisers kindly sent it to me and it arrived yesterday. I think it's destined for the seven year old. I'll need to find the right time to give it to her. The raffle was organised by the Westray archaeological society which has an important neolithic site to excavate. If you're interested in this sort of thing I recommend you have a look at Links of Noltland. 

I am a very busy day ahead which is doubtless why I'm not sleeping. Annoying. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.